History of Flagstaff House
Flagstaff House was built as a cabin in 1929 by a Chicago schoolteacher, Hattie Bilchert, who wanted a summer vacation retreat. In 1937, park ranger Joe Van Gorder bought the cabin as a place to hold special events. In 1954, the Buelkes bought the facility and property, named it “Flagstaff House,” and opened it as an elegant summer restaurant.
When it next became available for sale, Don Monette, owner of the Viking restaurant and the Golden Buff coffee shop, jumped at the chance. He had always wanted to own just one restaurant that was truly “fine dining,” and be able to concentrate on making that an incredible experience for his guests. He bought Flagstaff House and the surrounding five acres on November 1, 1971. The Monettes greatly expanded the property, weatherized it to be open all year long, and added a richly crafted mahogany bar, a cozy fireplace, and a rare crystal collection with pieces from around the world. They also added huge floor-to-ceiling picture windows and several outside terraces, which allow diners enjoy the changing seasons with breathtaking views of Boulder and the wildlife in the surrounding Boulder City Park. Also new, and available for private functions, is the restaurant's Vintner's Rooms which allow guests a look into the extensive 12,000 bottle wine cellar.
These days, Don, his sons Scott and Mark, and many of their family members work together to make Flagstaff House the incredible experience Don had always wanted it to be.